Cristiano Ronaldo wins fourth Ballon d'Or

Agencies | 2016-12-13 06:55

Cristiano Ronaldo wins fourth Ballon d'Or

A handout picture provided by France Football on 12 December 2016 of Real Madrid's Portuguese striker Cristiano Ronaldo posing with the Ballon d'Or 2016 trophy at Bernabeu stadium in Madrid, Spain, 08 December 2016.  [Photo/IC]

"I take the opportunity to thank all my teammates, from the national team and for Real Madrid. I feel so proud and happy," added Ronaldo, who won the award in 2008, 2013 and 2014.

The Real superstar first won the award in 2008 after Premier League and Champions League triumphs with Manchester United, but it's not until 2013 when he added his second.

Messi had hogged it four years in a row in 2009-2012, before Ronaldo made it a hat-trick the following year.
The first Ballon d'Or was won by Stanley Matthews, at the time with Blackpool, who beat Alfredo Di Stefano for the inaugural title in 1956.

Earlier this year, France Football and FIFA announced to part ways on the year-end award issue after having joined hands for five years.

FIFA are due to announce their choice of World Player of the Year for both male and female footballers on January 9 with national team captains and managers have votes.

Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349