US transfers six Guantanamo detainees to Uruguay

Updated: 2014-12-08 20:20


  Comments() Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

WASHINGTON - The US Defense Department on Sunday announced the transfer of six detainees from the detention center at Guantanamo Bay to Uruguay.

According to a DOD statement, Ahmed Adnan Ahjam, Ali Hussain Shaabaan, Omar Mahmoud Faraj, Abdul Bin Mohammed Abis Ourgy, Mohammed Tahanmatan and Jihad Diyab were unanimously approved for transfer after a review of their cases.

That review, part of an executive order signed by President Barack Obama in 2009, examined a number of factors including security issues.

"In accordance with statutory requirements, the secretary of defense informed Congress of the United States' intent to transfer these individuals and of his determination that this transfer meets the statutory standard," the statement said.

"The United States is grateful to the Government of Uruguay for its willingness to support ongoing US efforts to close the Guantanamo Bay detention facility," it said.

"The United States coordinated with the Government of Uruguay to ensure these transfers took place consistent with appropriate security and humane treatment measures," it added.

The six detainees detained for more than a decade include four Syrians, a Palestinian and a Tunisian.