Tajikistan to host CSTO defense ministers' meeting

Updated: 2015-06-03 16:28


  Comments() Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

DUSHANBE - Defense chiefs from member nations of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) will gather here for a meeting Thursday, the Russia-led military alliance said Wednesday.

The defense ministers will discuss a system of collective response to emergency situations and measures to prevent the recruitment of CSTO members' nationals for participation in foreign armed conflicts, the bloc's press service said.

The participants are also expected to endorse a plan for consultations between representatives of the CSTO member nations on foreign policy, security and defense designed for the second half of 2015 and the first half of 2016.

Founded in 1992 within the framework of the Commonwealth of Independent States, the CSTO currently has six members - Russia, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Armenia and Belarus, with Afghanistan and Serbia as its observer states.