Chengdu to apply 72-hour visa-free policy

Updated: 2013-06-06 15:32

By Huang Zhiling (

  Comments() Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

Chengdu will allow visitors from 45 countries, who have a third country visa and valid air ticket, to stay visa-free for 72 hours.

Hao Yuenan, an official with the Sichuan provincial government information office, said that Chengdu will be the fourth mainland city after Beijing, Shanghai and Guangzhou to adopt the policy.

The Sichuan province capital did not release a specific date for the program's introduction.

"The policy approved by the State Council is expected to promote tourism in Chengdu," said Hao Kangli, an official with the Sichuan Provincial Tourism Bureau.

The 45 countries are Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, the United Arab Emirates and Qatar.