45 countries listed for 72-hour visa-free stay in Shanghai

Updated: 2012-12-10 14:36


  Comments() Print Mail Large Medium  Small 分享按钮 0

SHANGHAI - Shanghai will allow transit passengers from 45 countries to stay in the city for 72 hours without a visa, following a similar policy announced by Beijing.

The policy will come into effect on Jan 1, the municipal authorities of Shanghai said on Sunday.

Transit passengers holding third country visas and plane tickets can enter Shanghai through the city's two airports - Hongqiao and Pudong.

The 45 countries, for both Beijing and Shanghai, are:

Austria   the Republic of Malta   Ukraine 
Belgium  the Netherlands  the United States of America 
the Czeck Republic  Poland  Canada
Denmark  Portugal  Brazil  
Estonia  the Republic of Slovakia Mexico 
Finland  the Republic of Slovenia   Argentina 


Spain  Chile
Germany  Sweden   Australia 
Greece  Swiss New Zealand
Hungary   Russia  the Republic of Korea 
Iceland  the United Kingdom of Britain  Japan 
 Italy the Republic of Ireland  Singapore  
Latvia Cyprus   Brunei
the Republic of Lithuania   Bulgaria  the United Arab Emirates  
Luxembourg Romania  Qatar

Related stories:

Shanghai visa plan 'set to boost visitor numbers'

45 countries listed for 72-hour visa-free stay in Beijing

Beijing set to welcome visa-free visitors

Beijing tourism sector looks forward to visa waiver

Visa-free transit policy to benefit int'l visitors